Brain Tumour Survivor

A site dedicated to leading edge treatment for brain tumours
It is currently Fri Sep 21, 2018 11:12 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours

PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:55 pm 

"Anticancer - A New Way of Life" by David Servan-Schreiber

Summary

The best cancer book I have read so far - highly recommended. There are so many things to like about this book. Whereas other cancer books seem to say, 'I've survived cancer so why can't you?', this book deals with all aspects of cancer including its modern history.

Insight

One of the best things that I say is that I have already adopted some things from this book. My normal approach is to only change one thing at a time and see if there is a noticable effect.

Also I usually take the entire loan period of a library book and then still don't finish all. This one I finished in five days, although its less than 300 pages.

I have a psychology degree and am often sceptical about personality types. David is a psychiatrist, but it is due to my trust in him that I gained by the previous chapters that I became open to the idea of a cancer C personality type. I reflected that while I had a tragic upbringing, I didn't react with violence but became the class clown; while remaining profoundly unhappy.

Not Anti Medicine

David recognises the benefits of conventional medicine. His main criticism is its success in treating acute patients and lack of success with chronic illnesses. He realises that while we are at the mercy of doctors when we are first diagnosed, it becomes as important to your prognosis afterwards what you do when you have had medical treatment.

No Magic Bullet