Brain Tumour Survivor

A site dedicated to leading edge treatment for brain tumours
It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 2:09 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours

Post subject: Lyn - my story - GBM IV
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 12:11 pm 

[color=indigo]A big hello to all ! [/color]

I'm so glad I found this site....the fact that there are survivors out there, and I hope to continue to be one of them.
I'm 46 years old. I've been a pharmacist for 25 years mainly based in community pharmacy. I've been married for 21 years and have three sons aged 18, 14 and 10.

I had a tumultuous year in 2008 where I began to doubt myself as a pharmacist and was noted to have "changed" in personality. My GP started me on anti-depressants which seemed to help for a while. Then I began to experience severe headaches which would often awaken me. I also had an episode of amnesia which I could not explain.

In February 2009 I was diagnosed with a brain tumour the size of a tennis ball in the R parieto-temporal region (hence the personality change). Subsequent surgery on 11th March 2009 revealed it to be a GBM IV.

I've had 6 weeks of combined radiation and chemotherapy resulting in a new hairstyle which is now re-growing. I've now completed round 3 of chemo (half way there). I'm off the anti-depressant and the anti-epileptics. Still not allowed to drive yet. My only problem so far is my short term memory, but I find writing things down helps with that.
I have been classified as permanently disabled. I would be a danger to be a dispensing pharmacist. Thankfully I had Income Protection Insurance which eases the money situation.

I'm doing really well so far and hope this continues for a long while yet.

Good Wishes
Lyn

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 4:59 pm 

Hi Lyn,

Welcome to the site! Thanks for sharing your story.