Brain Tumour Survivor

A site dedicated to leading edge treatment for brain tumours
It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 5:30 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 9:00 am 

I am new to this site and would like to share my story in hopes of finding people I can relate to. I was diagnosed with a low grade pilocytic astrocytoma in the year 2000 when I was 19 years old. At that time, I was a straight-A college freshman with an active social life and few symptoms. I felt optimistic that the removal of the tumor would make me better than ever. I had surgery to remove the tumor in the summer of 2000. Since the tumor was so large (about the size of an orange), there was a lot of damage done to my brain during the surgery. When I was in the ICU after the surgery, I had a stroke and a midline shift of my brain and almost died. I had to spend 6 weeks in rehabilitation after that. I had forgotten the previous year of my life including that I had been in college. I did not remember any of the people that I had met in college either. I also had difficulty remembering things that had just happened. I was paralyzed on my left side and had to begin taking medication to control my blood pressure which was elevated by my brain damage. My doctors said that I would never return to school, drive, or walk normally again. Since then, I have earned both a B.A. and an M.A., returned to driving normally, and regained my ability to walk and jog. I am grateful for all that I have been able to do, but doing these things has made people perceive me as normal. They do not realize how much effort I had to put into school because of my short-term memory loss. I had to study constantly and do nothing else. And I had to rest often because of my fatigue. I gained about 30 pounds from always sitting and eating to stay awake. School was easier for me than doing everyday things because I could go at my own pace and work in a quiet environment. Despite my success in school, I still ha