Brain Tumour Survivor

A site dedicated to leading edge treatment for brain tumours
It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 8:02 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours

PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 9:04 am 

I am 34 yr old female...I am a nurse and had headaches and was dizzy for about 1 week...being a nurse I immediately thought brain tumor (you always have everything when you are a nurse ;)) I went to the Dr. and insisted on an MRI..thank as they thought it silly to do an MRI...that was a Friday...Monday 10am I get the call...its a tumor in right frontal lobe...had surgery 11/21/11 so almost 4 weeks ago...patho came back grade 2 oligodendroglioma and I do have the 1p 19q deletion, good news or so I am told ;) they are doing the wait and see meget ththod which I am not so happy with but for now will live with....I am on Keppra (ick) never had a seizure, but for precautions am on it until my next MRI in Feb...plan to get them every 3months then move to 6mo then yearly...I have 2 small children and a husband who worry so much...I do not know what to say to the kids...My son is in therapy which has helped some...he is scared I am going to die, and I refuse to promise him a promise I cannot keep or have control over...I just tell him we hope not...so sad for Christmas he is asking Santa for me to be healthy...a 7 yr old should not have to worry about that...any suggestions for those with small kids? my 4 yr old doesnt really understand, just that I have a boo boo and they took it out...ho hum I am positive things happen for a reason and it was all so surreal how it happened. I get goosebumps sometimes....I had just taken a new job in August, that has great insurance and disability plans...it fell in my lap pretty much...then I feel weird pressure for an MRI and get a horrible diagnosis...but I do think it was a 'sign' to slow down and enjoy life and it all worked out well. I have an apt in the 2nd week of Jan to get my ok to go back to work, for now I am resting and enjoy my family